## Columbia Open Space Committee Regular Meeting Minutes Thursday, December 21, 2023

Members Present: Ann Dunnack Chair (Zoom), Paul Ramsey Temporary Chair, Chris Tolsdorf, Rob Helstrom, Ron Wikholm, Justin Riendeau. Members Absent: Paul Zator. Tom McGrath

Audience for Citizens: None

**Approval of Minutes**: Rob Helstrom moved, and Ron Wikholm seconded, a motion to accept the minutes of 10-19-2023 with the correction that Paul Ramsey had not been in attendance as reported. The vote was five ayes, no nays, and one abstention.

## **Old Business:**

Update of IMBA/State Plan: The parties involved have resolved their differences and the contract should be signed by the end of the year.

PZC/Open Space Set-asides: Justin Riendeau reported that PZC has been looking at models for high density, all age, planned affordable housing involving 12-unit developments, 20% of which are reserved for low income residents, on ten-acre lots with a 15% Open Space set-aside. Smaller 6-unit properties on 50,000 sq ft lots are also being considered. The State does not set a minimum lot size for these projects. There are engineering issues that need to be resolved, and the set-aside has not been decided.

Route 66 Property: Tabled.

Anita Fay Ramm Conservation Land: N/A.

Pine Street Parking: The lawyers are still working on a solution to the property boundary dispute.

River Trail Alliance: No report.

12-Town Airline Trail Alliance: No report.

Hop River Preserve: No report.

Salmon River Watershed Partnership: The annual meeting was held and Ron Wikholm provided a summary of the meeting. Of note the SRWP requests annual donations from member towns: Columbia historically has contributed \$500 through the BOS budget. This year the SRWP is

requesting an increase to \$1,000. Ron Wikholm will provide the group's justification for the increase to the BOS for their consideration.

FOMPSP activities: The group did not meet this month, but Ann Dunnack met with Deb Fisk (Recreation Director), DPW, and Mark Walter (Town Administrator) to share a wish list of projects and budget requests for OS, CCAC, and FMPSP; Mark Walter will review these requests to determine which items can go into which lines in the upcoming BOS budget.

## **New Business:**

Election of Officers: Justin Riedeau nominated Ann Dunnack to be the OS Chair for 2024: The motion was seconded by Ron Wikholm. The vote to approve the nomination was unanimous. Congratulations, and thank you, to Ann.

**Adjournment**: Rob Helstron moved to adjourn, Chris Tolsdorf seconded, and the meeting adjourned at 9:55 AM

Submitted by Chris Tolsdorf